Easy fixins: sot mayonnaise

I haven’t really researched the genesis of sốt mayonnaise in Vietnam, but I’m going to take a wild guess and say it prooobably came out of French colonialism that happened there. It makes even more sense when you know that it’s main use is for banh mi, a sandwich that uses a small baguette.

Never a shy one around fattening foods, I’ve always been a fan of mayo. I don’t eat it regularly, honestly, but when I do, I lay it on thick. Before making this batch, I never paid attention to how tangy mayo actually is, Vietnamese or not. The sharp tang hits your tongue, then the creaminess comforts it. It’s the perfect 1-2 punch.

To make the mayo, you’ll need two egg yolks, a tablespoon of lemon juice, about a half teaspoon of salt and a cup of canola oil. I also add a few cloves of garlic for extra flavor. You can hand whisk or use a small food processor. I’d recommend against a blender as it will over emulsify the oils and make the mayo too stiff. I used a 3-cup processor, which was perfect for the job. I threw a couple cloves of garlic into the processor and gave it 3 or 4 pulses. Then add the yolks and salt and pulse a few more times. When adding the oil, make sure that it’s added evenly and sloooooowly. This will help the oil to emulsify, giving it the creamy texture of mayo. The lid of my processor has a hole on top just for this purpose. Oil is poured into the reservoir and it drips down to the mixture in the bowl. The processor is running about 75% of the time it takes for all the oil to drip into the bowl. I try to keep an eye on the mayo and make sure it’s not getting too stiff. When this happens, you can add a lemon juice/water mixture to loosen it up, or add some white vinegar.

When it’s done, jar up what isn’t used right away and it should be good in the fridge for a couple months.

Prepping ingredients for mayo

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

